NCMPA1 logoThe City of Morganton is a member of North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1 (NCMPA1), which consists of 19 cities and towns in piedmont and western North Carolina. NCMPA1 agency has 75 percent ownership interest in Catawba Nuclear Station Unit 2, located in York County, S.C., which is operated by Duke Power. It also has an agreement with Duke that provides for electric power via McGuire Nuclear Station and Catawba Unit 1 should Catawba 2 be unavailable for service.

NCMPA1 is governed by a Board of Commissioners, which consists of 14 members elected throughout North Carolina. Each participant appoints a Commissioner and an Alternate Commissioner to the Board. The Board meets at least three times a year. The ElectriCities Board of Directors provides oversight of Power Agency operations.

ElectriCities provides management services to the North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1 as well as North Carolina Eastern Municipal Power Agency. Find out more about Electricities.

NCMPA1 Members

Morganton, Drexel, Granite Falls, Newton, Maiden, Statevsille, High Point, Lexington, Bostic, Licolnton, Shelby, Cherryville, Cornelius, Landis, Huntersville, Gastonia, Albemarle, Pineville, and Monroe


es-NCPP members map-700px

City Contact


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Staff Directory

305 E. Union St. Ste A100
Morganton, NC 28655 i Google Maps 16x16

morganton logo color 200px