i tv white 256px MORGANTON TV

City Council Recap

Catch up on what happened at the latest Morganton City Council meeting.


Calendar & Events

i newspaperLATEST NEWS

Go to the Newsroom


The City of Morganton Community Appearance Advisory Commission (CAAC) recently presented Grace Ridge and Treat with certificates of merit for their valuable contributions to the appearance and beauty of the City of Morganton.

CAAC Chairman Bill Allman presented the awards Tuesday, Aug. 25, 2015, to Brenda Yost, Executive Director of Grace Ridge, and Sabrina Hurt and Jenny Sparrow, owners of Treat.

“We appreciate and thank you for your efforts to improve the appearance of our community,” Allman said. “We encourage you to continue striving to improve our City. Through your example you are influencing others to do the same.”

Grace Ridge recently completed a renovation that included a new entryway into the building and ornate landscaping. The landscaping includes two outcroppings with boulders, a covered walkway, and a mixture of evergreens, deciduous trees, and flowers.

Treat opened in downtown Morganton in November last year and opened a small-plates restaurant and bar early in 2015. Hurt and Sparrow also added new awnings, planters, and outdoor seating on N. Sterling St.

“We think you’re doing an outstanding job of improving the beauty of downtown Morganton,” Allman said. “We appreciate what you’ve done; it’s something we can all be proud of.”

Public Works Director Scott Lookadoo works with the CAAC. The Public Works Department is responsible for backyard trash collection; street cleaning; maintaining the public grounds, mini-parks, and cemeteries; and downtown beautification.

“Scott Lookadoo deserves a lot of credit and praise for keeping Morganton clean and beautiful,” Allman said.

Community Appearance Advisory Commission responsibilities include initiating, promoting, and assisting in the implementation of general community beautification in Morganton, providing leadership and guidance in matters of community design and appearance, and preparing plans to improve the appearance of the City. Current members are Duke Logan, Bill Lennon, Eddie McGimsey, Martha Franklin, Bill Allman (Chairman), Nan McMahon, Judy Davis, Barbara Norvell, Laura Ervin Smith, and City Councilman John Cantrell, Jr.

Grace Ridge, 500 Lenoir Rd.

From left: Brenda Yost, Bill Lennon, Judy Davis, Laura Ervin Smith, Barbara Norvell, Carl Meyers, Martha Franklin, Scott Lookadoo, and Bill Allman.


Treat, 100 W Union St.

From left: Bill Lennon, Jenny Sparrow, Sabrina Hurt, Bill Allman, Laura Ervin Smith, Judy Davis, Barbara Norvell, Martha Franklin, and Scott Lookadoo.

vm morganton fun report

Click for Visitor Information

Visit www.discoverburkecounty.com 
to plan your visit to Nature's Playground!

bac logo 256pxcps compas xstream logocomma full logo 256pxDowntown Morganton logo 256px

hmf logo 256px ovt logo 256pxNTS 50 logo v3